Book Review (part 1): Muito Prazer, Fale O Portugues do Brasil / Speak the Portuguese of Brazil

March 11, 2009 at 9:46 am 4 comments

A new book has been published recently by the Brazilian publishing group DISAL. Its a 400 page textbook, with 2 CDs, for estrangeiros learning Porruguese. I can honestly say its the best manual for learning Brazilian Portuguese I’ve laid my hands on so far…

You can actually browse the first chapter here: http://www.disal.com.br/mtoprazer/

And, tomorrow (Friday 13th!) of March there is an e-lecture on the DISAL website by the authors on how to teach past, present and future to foreigners. Useful. I’m working at that time so I hope it will (and my friends assure me it should) be available for download afterwards.

More info on that event here: http://www.disal.com.br/html/eventos/ev7.html

I’ve written a full review of the book here.

Entry filed under: Book Reviews, Other stuff. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Gender issues 3 CELPE-Bras: what is it?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  March 15, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Thanks for mentioning this book and the e-lecture in your blog. I look forward to reading your full review when you find time to write it. I, like you, missed the live e-lecture and hoped I might be able to view an archived version but I’ve had no luck finding one. Do you or your friends know how to access a non-live version?

    Reply
  • 2. maclure  |  March 25, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Hi David, I’m working on getting that lecture! More news soon! And Ithat review is on its way too – but I’ve just been busy. DM

    Reply
  • 3. David  |  March 26, 2009 at 12:06 am

    Many thanks! Looking forward to your review and to any news about the lecture. I would be interested in how you think the new book/course compares with “Bem Vindo!” as that seems like its main competitor to me. Of course, you may not be familiar with “Bem Vindo!” in which case no problem. Also, don’t worry, I’ll be patient because I know what busy means!

    Reply
  • […] 26, 2009 A couple of weeks ago, I mentioned this book and said I would write a review. Here it […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


They don’t speak Spanish, you know!

This website has practice activities for people learning Brazilian Portuguese at Intermediate level or higher. Please browse around or click on ABOUT to find out more about how to get the most out of the site.

